Nicole Edwards-Au Pair Scam

So lately I've been looking for au pair opportunities to get to work and study in the United States. The responses from host families weren't quick so I was surprised when a certain Nicole Edwards contacted me through Facebook. Now the scammers don't just use emails but also use the Social Networking sites to fool other people.

January 25 at 11:45am Report
I saw your ID on E aupair.Com and decided to check you here on face book.I am Mrs Nicole Edwards and i would be glad if you could take up this job to be the nanny of my daughters,and my instincts still tells me you will be a very perfect person for the job.Let me tell a little bit about my daughters,Their names are Casey and Jennifer,Casey is the oldest,she is 10 years of age while Jennifer is 5 years old,i will like you to take care of them when am not around and you treat them as if they are your sisters,All you have to do is to bath them,prepare them for school and make sure they are fine always.The name of my husband is Campbell Edwards and he works here in fabric company while i work for a Non governmental organization for less privileged and i traveled a lot(WHO),You are welcome to stay for as long as you wish..We stay here in 8 lake street Illinois Addison which is a nice place to stay.Kisses and Hugs
If you are interested you can just email me on (

Having been hanging out online for quite sometime, I do not easily believe in every thing that she said because for one, when I looked at her name online, there were not references to support her claims. I looked at their address on Google Maps and as expected, I didn't see any lavish home. All I saw was an intersection. I replied with my interest and here's the response that I got.

January 25 at 3:17pm Report
Hello Good to hear from you, How you doing? I have started telling my daughters about you and they cant wait to meet you. When will you be available?? you can stay here at my house for as long as you want...You will always be with them when am around and away, your monthly payment is $1500 and $200 i give you to buy anything for yourself as pocket fee..i would take you as part of my family

I know a very reliable, secure and reputable immigration office whom i trust who can get you a visa within a very short period of time. They help me and my friends with flight tickets and vacations reservations. Here is the email of the immigration office as soon as you contact them let me know.

I would like to inform you would pay part of the visa processing fees because the last time i helped an aupair from France pay for her visa and flight ticket she arrived the US and didn't work for me, For this not to repeat itself and me not look like a fool for the second time i have decided you pay part of your visa processing fees. I hope this is okay with you.
Kisses and Hugs

If I were as gullible as many other people, I would easily believe in her sweet words. I added her on Facebook and looked at her pictures. What sparked my doubt about her identity was when she only had 22 friends and most of them are Filipinos and some equally weird-looking names. Maybe she added the Filipinos to trick while the others are just for the support of her fancy claims.

I was surprised when I could no longer access her profile today, I must have been blocked or something. I asked her several things and that must have tipped her that I am suspicious.

She told me to contact Owen Blames for the processing of my papers. Emailed the guy, didn't receive any reply.

Today, we chatted and she has proven me that she indeed is a scam. When asked about the name of the organization that she works for, she paused for several minutes and told me, "To Help The Needy". I told her it's a weird name and said it's a relatively new organization. When asked where her kids study, she kept me waiting for like 5 minutes and came up with non-existent school.

Here are the screenshots of most of our conversations.


A message that I sent "Nicole Edwards" telling her that I already knew that she's a SCAM. Notice that she then became offline.

For some weird reason, my internet got cut off and the other part of our conversation wasn't recorded.

What intrigued me most was when I asked her if what time is it in IL now. She said it's 10:38 AM (it's 10:38 PM when we chat). Having been working in a call center, I know for a fact that IL has CST and not EST (Eastern Standard Time). I asked her to speak with me on cam and microphone and she told me she's currently at work. I asked if she won't get caught chatting with me at work, she said it won't be a problem. Now that sounds like contradicting statements.

For all those who may be contacted by Nicole Edwards, don't believe her for she's a scam. She's not who she claim to be. For many people who would like to take advantage of the au pair program, contact your local agencies for safer transactions and DO NOT send money online. Also, don't believe everything they say, do your own research.